Thursday, November 1, 2012

Splattered Blood by Mike Draper (Review)

Splattered Blood
THE CHIEF OF INTERNAL SECURITY for New England's professional basketball team, the Highlanders, is found dead in his office, with a suicide note and conflicting evidence of foul play. Refusing to believe he would have had reason to kill himself, and frustrated with the slowness of the police force's progress on the case, Johnny's widow, Roseanne, and best friend, Randy, launch a renegade investigation of their own. Aided by Roseanne's brother Graham, a fiercely protective loose cannon, they dig up evidence that Johnny, just previous to the date of his death, was running his own undercover investigation into the drug overdose of a star player for the Highlanders. 

The amateur detectives find themselves mixed up with a ruthless gang of mobsters, many of whom are responsible for the drug trade-and a string of violent murders - from Washington, D.C. to Boston. When their quest takes a gruesome and deadly turn, the three wonder if they're in over their heads. A gritty tale in the vein of Dennis Lehane and Robert B. Parker, Splattered Blood keeps readers guessing,with suspense and retribution on every page.

Paperback: 318 pages
Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)

A sneaky little extra about the book from Mike

In the novel, a retired State Trooper gets a job as chief of internal security for a New England basketball team.

Events happen where all of the starters become unable to play for various reasons, one drug overdose, gambling, drunk driving and so on. 

The security chief begins looking into this and is found dead with a suicide note on his computer.

His widow goes to her financial advisor and states that she can't accept this verdict. He was happily married and had purchased $500,000 of life insurance to protect the family but was told the life insurance wouldn't pay if the death was from suicide.

The financial advisor knows some police officers in Boston from running tha marathon and is able to get a copy of the suicide note. In it are clues that the note was forced so the case is turned to a murder investigation.
However, when the official investigation slows down, the widow states that she will take some of the insurance money and hire the financial advisor to help find the killer. She states that her brother will also help and he knows weapons and martial arts but is a hot head and the fniancial advisor is more analytical so would make a good member of the team.
The novel will appeal to mystery fans, sports fans, fans of strong women characters, it has a finance interest and it will develop to have an interest into the group that is causing the deaths.

About the Author

Michael A. Draper holds a master’s in teaching from Saint Michael’s College in Vermont. Once out of school he spent four years serving in the Air Force, retiring as a Captain. Currently in the field of insurance sales and retirement planning, Draper found a great deal of inspiration for this novel while working with law enforcement personnel. In his quieter moments Draper enjoys reading, jogging, dancing, and book collecting. The authors he most admires are James Lee Burke, Joe Lansdale, Michael Connelly, John Connolly, and Don Winslow. Splattered Blood is Draper’s first published novel.

My Review

I do not normally read detective novels, but Mike Draper has been an avid follower and supporter of my blog and my reviews, so when he asked if I would read and review his debut novel, I was honored.

The book is well written and very fast paced. The reader is left winded by the story as you follow the three main characters through their investigation to clear the husband's name of one of the main characters. There is a load of action in the book as you meet the low life characters that become part of the investigation, as well as the drug traffic and Russian mobs and the corruption that goes along with such details.

Although an integral part of the plot, I personally had a difficult time with the blood and mayhem, which is why this has not been my genre of choice. For all of you detective fans out there, this is the book you've been looking for. It has garnered a lot of positive reviews and I think you'll enjoy it.

If you found my review helpful, please consider voting "yes" on Amazon by clicking the link below. Thanks!!

Splattered Blood can be purchased on Amazon

As per FTC requirements: My Life. One Story at a Time. is an advertising affiliate with Amazon. A small fee is earned when purchases are made using the above link. A free book was obtained from the source mentioned above in order to provide an honest and fair review. The views, beliefs, and opinions expressed by guest post authors are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views, beliefs, or opinions of My Life. One Story at a Time. Guest Posts are offered so authors can share their writing with my audience for their enjoyment.

Enhanced by Zemanta


  1. The name is totally gripping! I really liked the book blurb, and the cover's cool too. Thanks for the review; perhaps I'll have to venture beyond my own genre preference as well and give this one a shot. :)

  2. Hi thanks for liking our cooking blog =) The Kitchen Queens.

    I also have a book review blog! I love to read as well and would greatly appreciate a follow there if you'd like. Nette’s Bookshelf Reviews Thanks again! =)


Thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment! I really appreciate it! I read each and every response, and I love hearing thoughts and opinions from fellow bloggers, readers, and authors. If you have a blog, please leave a link so I can visit you back. Thank you.

I try to answer most comments, so if you would like to read my response, please visit often. Or, just click the "Email follow-up comments to [...]" box before publishing, to receive notification of new comments.

If you have to leave a comment anonymously, don't leave one at all. I will delete it. Own up to your thoughts.